Sufjan Stevens Shares ‘Wallowa Lake Monster’ From Upcoming Mixtape

Written by Jack Andrew Cribb

Our favourite lo-fi folk singer-songwriter Sufjan Stevens has released a new track Wallowa Lake Monster. It comes as an outtake from his 2015 album Carrie & Lowell.

Wallowa Lake Monster, a cute and yet sombre electronic number, replete with Stevens’ iconic lyrical stylings, the ascendance of the mundane into the transcendental, forms a six-minute part of his latest project to be announced, The Greatest Gift. This mixtape is a companion to both the Carrie & Lowell album and live album, combining song remixes, demos, outtakes, and alternate song versions. The remixes were contributed by Helado Negro (Roberto C. Lange), Doveman (Thomas Bartlett), 900X (James McAlister, with whom Stevens collaborated on this year’s Planetarium), and Stevens himself.

The Greatest Gift is set to be released on November 24th via Asthmatic Kitty, with a portion of the mixtape’s sale profits going to the Cancer Support Community.

You can check out the track Wallowa Lake Monster and the mixtape’s tracklist below.

Credit: Asthmatic Kitty Records

The Greatest Gift tracklisting:

01. Wallowa Lake Monster
02. Drawn to the Blood — Sufjan Stevens Remix
03. Death with Dignity — Helado Negro Remix
04. John My Beloved — iPhone Demo
05. Drawn to the Blood — Fingerpicking Remix
06. The Greatest Gift
07. Exploding Whale — Doveman Remix
08. All of Me Wants All of You — Helado Negro Remix
09. Fourth of July — 900X Remix
10. The Hidden River of My Life
11. City of Roses
12. Carrie & Lowell — iPhone Demo


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s